1. Hello All!

So I was reading the recent dev post #8, and I was quite blown away by what they have accomplished. (GG to them).

Of course with this in mind, I wanted to learn where the developers learn their concepts, NMS and working with packets from? I know how to code, I have around 3 years of experience in programming Java, and I mostly code core systems for smaller servers so I do have a very basic understanding on NMS and packet handling.

I, of course, want to up this and learn from the very best (Hypixel developers of course) and eventually learn and get the skill they have accumulated over the years, then likely apply when I have enough working skill and proof to work with packets and NMS (which is, of course, a major requirement for these guys).

To also add onto this, what program do you believe programming would be a good investment for learning new skills, concepts etc? (e.g. programming an anti-cheat, a system critical system like the main controller HP have for their network, etc). I have myself thinking an anti-cheat could be a great way to go with packet handling, and potentially NMS, though I believe anti-cheats are more based on packet listening and what not.

Thanks for all the help! :)

2. 1. Be creative
    2. Be creative
    3. Be creative

• Funny Funny x 1
  3. To understand NMS and packets, you need to read the raw source code and the packets themselves to see what things mean (which is pretty much the goal of deobfuscation). After having enough knowledge, you will be able to figure out how to wire things together, making something that you want.

• Like Like x 1
  4. That's on internet side, you must learn a base language eg python, c or java

5. https://wiki.vg/ is an extensive wiki which describes packets and other Minecraft protocol-related stuff in detail. If you're making things like Minecraft bots for example, it can be a very valuable source of information.