1. Dance

Dance Well-Known Member

Dance_Dog
    MVP+
    LimboFish
    Guild Master
    EDIT: Numbered questions for readability & ease of response

Hello. I have a few questions about planning out and setting up a development pipeline for a Spigot Minecraft network linked using BungeeCord.

Testing

Firstly,

1. Is there a recommended practice for testing Spigot and BungeeCord plugins?
    2. Would unit testing be ideal, or having a physical testing environment? A mix of both?
    3. If it involves unit testing, how would I go about programmatically testing events, etc?

Planning and Implementing CI/CD

I’m not awfully sure where to start here as I have no experience with this. If anyone has a resource that they recommend for learning CI/CD first, that would be lovely.

1. It looks like GitLab is able to take care of unit testing and building plugins as jar files, but what comes after that?
    2. Is there a simple way to deploy that jar file to a bunch of docker containers, for example?

Storing Passwords in Prod/Dev Environments

I hear that a lot of networks have a separate dev network and database (in addition to their main network and database) that they somehow put into their pipeline.

1. Where would a dev network fit into a pipeline?
    2. Where in this sort of development pipeline would you store sensitive information such as database credentials, API tokens, etc? Should you write them into a config file in the repository itself, or should they be kept out of git? What about a script that copies a .env file from somewhere? If that works, where would that .env be stored?
    3. How could you go about giving the servers different database credentials depending on the environment? It makes a .env file seem like the better option, but how would I copy that into the actual running server?

———————