1. Xizz3l

Xizz3l New Member

Xizz3l
    VIP
    Hi, I am completely new to this. I am playing with the new Skyblock api.
    I am trying to decode the item_bytes from the auctions. I know it's a base 64 gzip nbt data.
    Is there any lib or code that I can use to decode it.

I found a way to decode the base 64 but don't know what to do next.

2. You can use the built in java classes (assuming you use at least java 8 i believe) java.util.Base64 (to decode from base64) and java.util.zip.GZIPInputStream

Here's a code snippet that you can use to return the data unzipped, as a string:

Code:
    import java.io.*;
    import java.util.Base64;
    import java.util.zip.GZIPInputStream;

public void jsonCode() throws IOException {
        String jsonFormatOutput = decompressGzip(decodeBase64String(inputString));
        System.out.println(jsonFormatOutput);
    }

public byte[] decodeBase64String(String string){
        return Base64.getDecoder().decode(string);
    }

public String decompressGzip(byte[] compressed) throws IOException {
        final int BUFFER_SIZE = 32;
        ByteArrayInputStream byteArrayStream = new ByteArrayInputStream(compressed);
        GZIPInputStream gzipStream = new GZIPInputStream(byteArrayStream, BUFFER_SIZE);
        StringBuilder string = new StringBuilder();
        byte[] data = new byte[BUFFER_SIZE];
        int bytesRead;
        while ((bytesRead = gzipStream.read(data)) != -1) {
            string.append(new String(data, 0, bytesRead));
        }
        gzipStream.close();
        byteArrayStream.close();
        return string.toString();
    }

from there, on there's a lot of libraries you can use to parse the NBT data and manipulate however you see fit
    https://wiki.vg/NBT#Libraries

3. Xizz3l

Xizz3l New Member

Xizz3l
    VIP

Ty for the extremely quick response. I used the java example code from GitHub in combination with my api key to get some example string of an item_bytes: