1. Hello All!

So, I have been playing on Hypixel for a while now, and as a programmer, I have taken great inspiration on how Hypixel works (love the dev blogs, keep them coming, learning a good amount from them!)

Recently I have been educating myself on containerized application deployment (with Docker) and I have become interested in how Hypixel provisions and deploys new server instances.

Since playing Hypixel and my experience with servers and container applications they (presumably) have this type of system in place:

Master Server (this manages the containers) > Storage Server (this is where all the game files are stored) > Proxy Server (they have one for each game mode I presume, or this would be a load balancing server) > Container Instances (this is what we play on).

So I am wondering, how would I go about deploying a similar solution (code-wise with Docker), that would allow me to easily scale and be resource-efficient?

Thanks for the help! :)
    - Shay Punter

2. Hypixel uses a central management system called MasterControl. It is responsible for most things, such as server deployment. I would assume they have some form of base container or folder that is replicated, assigned a port and game server ID, then deployed. Here are some articles that contain some information regarding how Hypixel deploys there servers.

Article 1
    Article 2

Knowing exactly how the server deploys its servers is hard to know without having inside knowledge. I doubt the Hypixel Developers will go into mass detail in the inner workings of the server.

As for your query in deploying a similar solution, I haven't done a lot of work with Docker but I have created programs that dynamically create servers based on player counts in other servers, etc.

I'll do some research for you and see if I can find a solution, but I am a bit busy at the moment.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
    James

• Like Like x 2